top of page

Untitled

By: Anonymous



I get the text, “let me know when you are home!”


I clutch my bag and I grasp my phone


Because I am in danger when I walk alone at night


*DING*


“are you alright?”


I’m scared of the world we live in


filled with cavemen


who think that women are objects


some type of social prospects


I am sixteen years old


but my childhood is lost


They say boys will be boys


but when can girls just be girls?


not having to deal with hatred and abuse we receive


from our patriarchal society


They say it’s not all men


but it’s all women


my dress does not mean yes, but some view it as an open invitation


women should be seen as a celebration


But we are not


We are


objectified


and


crucified


for breaking societal norms


We come in all forms


but we are not appreciated nor accepted


men think we need to be protected


but we are strong, we are relentless,


we strive to create a place for openness


all we want is


a place for human decency


a place for all women to be treated fairly


including you and me


Recent Posts
bottom of page