top of page

Senior Artist Spotlight: Heather Morecock



Who is Heather Morecock?


I am seventeen years old. I am a senior. I live with my mom. Because of Covid, I do not leave the house much anymore besides going to work. This has brought my mom and I closer together. We will have craft nights every Friday night. Friday is Shabbat in Judaism, and as a practicing Jew this is what the typical Friday night looks like in my household: Relief as I am done with school for the week, lighting the Shabbat candles, eating dinner with my mom, and then doing a craft together or watching a movie.


What does Heather Like?

Favorite song: It is hard to pick a favorite song. I do however have favorite genres of music. I most frequently listen to alternative/indie music. My music taste definitely is a product of my dad’s music taste. Ever since I was little he has influenced my music taste by playing his favorite artists and songs in the car and in the house.


How did you become an artist? How long have you been practicing?


I first started taking art classes when I was in preschool. I was frequently yelled at by my art teacher for not following the instructions, but my deficiency led to the establishment of my creativity. I guess you could say I have been an artist since then. Breaking the barriers of what is considered “art” and instead putting my own interpretation on it made me the artist I am today.


What inspires your work and creative philosophy? Is there anyone or anything in your life that has influenced your art or creative vision?


My work is inspired by things which I find inspirational. Whether I am walking outside and see a beautiful sunset over a pond, or eating a delicious piece of cake, my artwork is inspired by things which bring me joy. However, I have recently been using art as a way to critique things which anger me, or I find wrong in society. I want my art to not only remind me of what makes me happy, but also draw attention to important issues. My biggest influence would have to be my grandmother “Mum.” Mum has been an artist for as long as I can remember. Her entire house is filled with oil paintings of her own creation and she has such a distinct style. It has always been a goal of mine to join her household exhibition, and in eighth grade my first piece to join her private collection was framed and put on display. I wish I had more time to work on art, and that the two of us could paint together because we both share the same passion for escaping from life through the creative process.


What is your favorite medium? Why?


I have many different mediums which I like. My personal favorites to use that I think creates the best compositions that I am capable of are colored pencil and charcoal. However, I have a soft spot for oil paint. I am not the best at using oil paint, but whenever I go to museums or exhibitions and see an oil painting I appreciate it.


What do you like most about being an artist?


I like the freedom of being an artist the most. There are no rules to art, and this is relieving as it feels like there are rules for everything else in life.


What does your art mean to you?


Art means expressing yourself. Art should tell the story of the artist, or the story that the artist wants to convey. Art to me is like a book without words. In my personal sketchbook, I portray natural themes such as botany. I like to take photographs of what I find beautiful and then recreate them. Oftentimes, I will sit on a roof at Sheep Pasture and work on my artwork. It is so peaceful and I feel inspired when I am in nature.


What are you working on now?


Right now, for school, I am working on a charcoal drawing of myself. It is with a focus on intense lighting to create dramatic shadows and highlights. Personally, this is not my favorite project because I do not like the idea of drawing my own face. At home, I am working with other mediums such as clay to create fun room decor. I always am working on an art project both at home and in school.


What's your favorite piece you've ever created?


This is definitely a hard question because internally I hate everything I create because I am my own worst critic. If I had to pick a favorite I would say my most recent piece “Morning Routine” is my favorite. It is a charcoal piece where I expressed my disapproval of body standards. I also really like some of my gouache compositions from my personal sketchbook.


Sum up your art style in three words.


Subjective, different, everchanging


Recent Posts
bottom of page