top of page

America's Burden

In response to “The Book of Life and Death,” write a poem or piece of short fiction that sheds light on the life of a person or group who we don’t often see represented in stories.


By: Raphael Vache



In the central part of Madagascar, lives a ten year old boy named Jafari. He lives with his mother and a little brother who is eight in a small village. This village is located on the outskirts of the jungle. They live in a poor state. Jafari’s family does not have running water, a bathroom, or other necessities in a house. Instead he bathes in the nearby river to keep himself clean. Jafari’s mother is a harvester for the village’s farms. Although this can provide some food, it does not provide enough. As a result Jafari and his brother must work ten hours each day to have additional income. Unfortunately, their job is not pleasant, but their living state is all they have ever known.

I am not sure what we are providing for when we work. But everyday, we must cross 3 miles of thick muddy jungle to get to the harvesting mines. We collect this rare metal that supposedly is used to fabricate technology. My little brother overheard one of our bosses once discussing a possible increase in labor since demand was about to skyrocket because of a device called an iPhone X. I have heard of an iPhone a few times before but have never seen one. Apparently, my little brother thinks that the metal is used to make it. We do not get paid much, and sometimes we do not get paid, or we get paid in forms of food.

The path to our working sight is treacherous. We built shoes a few weeks ago since the raining season has intensified causing the muds to be very thick. Also, we are cautioned to walk across higher ground ever since a villager lost his life to a mudslide last year. The worst is walking back to the village when it is dark out. Luckily, I have memorized a path after working since I was seven years old. This is my brother's second year so he is still hesitant about where to go. When we are working, we sometimes are abused and verbally assaulted if we do not work efficiently enough. In some cases, our pay is withheld for the day. In those instances, we normally do not eat, which leaves us hungry and exhausted after ten hours of work.

Sometimes before leaving, I am able to squeeze some educational studies with my mother. My mother explained that education is important, but if we cannot have our basic needs, we cannot have education, so we must work instead. My mother wants me and my brother to go to America one day. She explained that it is where children do not work and we have clothes and food everyday. Sometimes I wonder if they have the iPhones made from the metal we mine. My mother also told me once that my father tried going to America in search of a new start. Unfortunately, we have not heard back in three years. They are rumors that he died on his way there from an accident. Either way, life is more difficult without another person to provide income.

I wonder if America could help us instead of us going there. I wonder if America knows our life here and maybe they could give us new shoes so me and my brother’s feet will not hurt anymore. If one day I reach there I will find out why we struggle for our voices to be recognized. America is supposed to be the greatest country, but I never see their influence on others. My family and village struggle so much without any external help. Maybe they could also help us with this new disease that infected a few villagers. They cannot work and we must give them some of our food. Hopefully, we will be aided as human beings.

Recent Posts
bottom of page