top of page

Senior Artist Spotlight: Madeleine Taylor



Who is Madeleine Taylor?


I am 17 years old and a senior. I live with my parents, my younger brother, and my younger sister.


What does Madeleine Like?

Favorite food: Sushi

Favorite dessert: Brownies

Favorite song: Too Close by Ria Mae

Favorite artist: Daniel Heidkamp

Favorite book: any book in the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan


How did you become an artist? How long have you been practicing?


I’ve always loved being creative and have utilized every opportunity to explore my artistic abilities since I was very little. It wasn’t until I joined the OA art department, however, that I started taking my creative passions as an artist seriously.


What inspires your work and creative philosophy? Is there anyone or anything in your life that has influenced your art or creative vision?


I find inspiration in anything and everything, but a lot of it comes from the memories and experiences that have shaped me into who I am. I like to incorporate things that are meaningful to me in my pieces and portraying glimpses of my own story. Most of my pieces relate back to some of my favorite memories. It’s always more fun creating art that you can relate to and that reminds you of something good.


What is your favorite medium? Why?


Colored pencils and ink are my favorite mediums. They both allow for precision and control that my perfectionist self really enjoys. The colored pencils can really add vibrence to a piece and are fun to blend with. Ink and pen on the other hand are more bold which makes shading with techniques like stippling more interesting to work with.


What do you like most about being an artist?


I like the freedom of being able to capture any singular moment in time while still creating a visual concept that can be up for interpretation.


Do you want to pursue this in the future?


I don’t plan on pursuing art directly or as a major in the future, but I know I’ll always stay creative and keep art as a hobby.


What does your art mean to you?


My art to me represents hard work, dedication, and growth. Projects always take up a lot of time and come with different challenges, but it is one of the most rewarding experiences to look back on all of the hard work once a piece is finished. It’s been fun to see how I’ve progressed as an artist and as a person through my art.


What are you working on now?


Right now, I am working on a charcoal self portrait with an intense light source.



Recent Posts
bottom of page