top of page

Preconceived Notions

In response to “The Book of Life and Death,” write a poem or piece of short fiction that sheds light on the life of a person or group who we don’t often see represented in stories.


By: Abigail DeFrancesco



Alice Vega, single mother of Claire Vega. Alice has been an employee of Summer Street Diner in Boston for many years. Business is slowly declining, so she has not been making as much as usual. Being a single mother, she needs any money she can get in order to provide for her daughter. In her case specifically, money is particularly short. Claire was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes at the age of four. Her insulin therapy, diet, and exercise are all crucial to her health. She must take a twice-daily dose of insulin, which is rather expensive. It is difficult for Alice to pick up enough shifts and business to afford these 30-day supplies of insulin. While this has created a stressful life for Alice, she tries to keep it out of Claire’s mind. Alice would never want to allow Claire to take on the stress of something she cannot control, especially considering she is only six years old. Claire’s favorite part of the day used to be her dance classes. She began dancing at the age of 3. She is a natural when it comes to ballet and shows so much potential. Unfortunately, a year ago, Claire tore her ACL. This required surgery, which meant more money spent that they did not have. Alice, being the strong mother she is, kept a brave face for Claire, did what had to be done, and made the expense cuts where she needed to. Between the lack of money and her injury, Claire had to quit dance. However, the hospital bills really took a toll on them and they lost their house a few months later. Alice and Claire have been hopping between homeless shelters and relying on soup kitchens when they can. Alice still picks up shifts at the diner to pay for Claire’s insulin. Her boss allows her to bring Claire to work and sit in a booth for a while, knowing it will help avoid childcare costs. Claire has been studying the Bible, which has really helped her remain positive. Being on the streets most of the time leads to many dirty looks and cruel interactions. Through all that, they help each other to focus on the good. They know who they are and their own story. Homelessness usually comes with preconceived notions and a single story with no voices to represent the truth, but their dignity and integrity keep them strong.

The Empty Bag of Humanity

The early morning sun shines through the windows of the shelter onto my face. What a beautiful sight. I turn over to see my daughter’s adorable, heart-melting smile. Claire’s smile shines even brighter than the sun. I want to stay there admiring the beauty she brings to this ugly world. It is time though to get up and start our day. The same day we have been living for three months now. Claire and I say our prayers and make our way to the front doors of the shelter and thank the volunteers for all their generosity. We step through the doors, entering the cruel world once again. We keep our heads held strong and cherish the sun rays beaming on our pale, hungry faces. We thank God for letting us wake up another day.

After walking a few blocks, we arrive at the Summer Street Diner. Claire takes a seat at the deserted, lonely booth in the back corner. I feel so bad that this is the life she lives, but she always manages to keep a smile on her adorable face. My boss, Anne, and Claire have their daily chats about touching verses in the Bible. Anne is generous enough to lend Claire her Bible to read while I work tables. She does so much for us. I do not know what we would do without her kind soul.

My shift ends and it is time for us to find a safe spot on a bench somewhere. I take out my sign in hopes that some kind stranger will leave some spare change for us as they walk by. We usually gather up a few dollars each day, but not much. This is the hardest part of our day. It is especially hard to ignore all the dirty, judgey expressions on the faces of those who stroll on by. It breaks my heart when parents pull their children as far away from us as possible. I understand, but I wish they, and everyone else, knew our situation and who we are as people. I am just a mother trying to provide for my ill daughter, while keeping her days as positive as I can.

I see a gentleman approach us, his Louis Vuitton bags and all. I so greatly appreciate the sight of others coming over to help. I do not like accepting help from others, but I know we need it. As he advances toward us, I notice he has his arm extended with a bag of McDonald’s in his grip. It is risky to accept food from others, but I still have enough faith left in humanity to trust him. He so kindly hands over the bag and quickly walks away. I did not get the chance to say thank you, which is something I find very important. I open the bag. All I see is garbage. Crushed boxes. Used napkins. Crumpled wrappers. Empty. The bag was empty of food and filled with his leftover trash. Claire excitedly asks me what is inside. “Can I have some Mama? I am so hungry! Please let me have a look.” I quickly crush the bag and hide it behind me. I try to limit the negativity Claire experiences in the world. She reaches behind me and opens the bag. A wave of disappointment rushes across her face. “It’s okay Mama. ‘Be strong and courageous; do not be frightened or dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.’ That was today’s Bible verse with Anne- Joshua 1:9.” I am amazed by her ability to focus on the good. She is my role model, the brightly shining center of my universe. I am so beyond grateful to have her by my side each and every day.

It is time now for us to head to the pharmacy. I use all the tips from work and the change people have given us to buy Claire’s monthly supply of insulin. If only the judgmental people who walk by knew our story. I do not want your money for drugs. I am not going to put your change toward something useless and unimportant. I have a job. I try to provide for Claire. The diner barely receives business nowadays and my daughter needs her insulin. I survive each day for her. We are no different than you.


Recent Posts
bottom of page