top of page

Featured Artist: Joey Looney



Who is Joey Looney?


Joey Looney is a 18 year old senior artist at OA. He loves to use oil paints. You can find him eating Poké Bowls and apple pie. His inspiration for his artwork comes from his experiences and identity.


What does Joey Like?


Food: Poké Bowls Dessert: Apple Pie Song: Alaska by Maggie Rogers Artist: Halsey Book: Call Me By Your Name

Artwork



Note from the Artist:


“That’s Me” This self portrait was done in charcoal. I really enjoyed this project as charcoal is one of my favorite mediums. “Content” For “Content” I used pen and micrography which is a technique where you use words to “draw.” I love this drawing because it depicts a really peaceful moment in my life where everything felt perfect. I remember feeling so content sitting with my sister holding our since past dog. “Rainbow Portrait” I probably had the most fun painting this piece. This project was all about creating a portrait that incorporates various elements of my life all throughout it. I most obviously included a rainbow across my face which alludes to the pride flag. I also included a piano pattern on my shirt as I play piano, 4 leafed clovers in my hair because I find them everywhere, and a sunset and ocean as the background because I love both those things.

Interview

How old are you? Grade? Family? I am 18 and a senior. I live with my mom and dad and older sister. How did you become an artist? How long have you been practicing? I have always been a very creative person. Some of my oldest memories are tagging along with my sister to her art lessons when I was 2. Once I was old enough at 4 I began art lessons and I haven't looked back. What inspires you? A lot of things inspire me. I get a lot of inspiration from my experiences and identity. Also nature and capturing the little things in life. What is your favorite medium? I love oil paints. What do you like most about being an artist? Being able to capture a moment in time and inspire other people. Do you want to pursue this in the future? Yes. I hope to take art classes in college and continue to create art in my free time. What does your art mean to you? My art means a way to express myself and capture a moment in time. What are you working on now? I’m working on an oil painting. The composition which depicts me reaching a hand out to myself represents self acceptance and self love despite what society says.

Recent Posts
bottom of page